POEM – Dear Bully

Dear Bully
When You towered over me
It was folly
But I failed to realise

Salty water beaded my red face
And my heart thumped at a crazy pace
As a thousand ideas through my mind race
My feet were never a part of the craze
They stood rooted, staring at your face.

‘Twas bluff
When you raised your fist
Not being tough
I failed to realise.

Nerves coiled at the crown of my head
And sensations to my muscles were led
Ears open for my scream to be heard
And I thought of waking in a hospital bed
Yet it was a fleeting pain you inflicted on my head

But dear
It is over, Bully
No fear
Now I’ve realised

F for Feedback

