Vodafone Ghana Music Awards 2012 Nominees – Critique & Biases

Ghana Music Awards
Finally the much awaited list of nominees for the Ghana Music Awards is out and my, are there some biases in the list as other claim? I believe so, but I must state that as an award scheme which takes into consideration a lot of genres, the list will not fall well with everybody for obvious reasons. Thus in this post I’ll hit on only the major clear-cut wrong placements in the list, not ideas based on people’s own emotional convictions.
I must first say a hearty congratulations to the nominees, especially Sarkodie, who tops the list this year with 12 nominations, Fuse, a new face in the industry riding on the success of his hitsong “Azonto” and M3nsa, the first time ever a member of the AfroPop duo “FOKN BOIS” has made it onto the list.
At the first meeting with members of the press, the sponsors, Vodafone, with MUSIGA, went to great length to explain the various categories and elaborated on the difference between Hiplife and Hiphop to us. Its thus very surprising when these same people, list, Sarkodie’s song “I’m In Love With You” as a Hiphop song, not to talk of Guru’s “Mmaakuo“.
In the video categories, I’ll only say I find it suspicious that Okyeame Kwame’sFaithful” should be included in the list, not because he was very active in the selection process but because the song was overshadowed by numerous and the video though of great quality was surpassed by the numerous videos by Pascal Aka and Phamous Philms. In the same breath let me add that I’m awed by the fact that not a lot of the Azonto-like songs didn’t flood the Vodafone Most Popular Song Of The Year category.
Funnily enough, Okyeame Kwame’sFaithful” was inserted in the Hiplife category, I was of the view that the song was a more Hiphop-oriented song, but it seems I’ve not got enough knowledge on the differentiation between the two genres. However, the whole process this year has been relatively clearer than past ones and the headline sponsors Vodafone Ghana, must be given due praise.
However on a darked side, rumors reaching me, have it that Becca said a huge amount of money to be featured in the list. The same sources tells of fictitious deals which put EL in the list. However, I have to say I have no iota of belief in this claims especially the EL issue though I’m currently looking into both issues.
As said somewhere, the award scheme may be biased but if anyone has the balls, they would just have to follow the footsteps of 4 Syte TV and create their own award scheme.

F for Feedback

